Category
Gone Phisching
This just arrived in my inbox:
It is an image with an hyperlink on
the dispute transaction text to an Estonian host. It pretty much looks
like a pixel perfect duplication of paypal. For a layman user difficult
to spot (unless you do the magazines with the "spot-the-7-differences"
a lot):
- Paypal sends text, not an image
- the hotspot is slightly off
- It has been send to me via BCC
May them grow pimples on their butt,
so they can't sit painfree!
Category
Gone Phisching
From bouncing messages I learned today,
that a flood of viruses is send specifically to Singaporean email accounts
with the fake sender info@wissel.net. In case you came to this site to
look who attacked you: It is not me. There is no such email address. The
sender's address is totally fake. I also find that disgusting.
Nevertheless --- have a great day!
Category
Gone Phisching
Seems like the Australian government got
the right idea. They start taking the ISVs into the responsibility to shut
down zombies. There is quite a bit
over coverage world wide.
At the end the solution to curb unsolicited use of the Internet lies at
the access ramps. Unfortunately the definition of "unsolicited"
is in the eye of the beholder, so what weeds out a pest can also be used
to suppress. I don't think that will be a problem in Australia, rather
further up North (much further).
Category
Gone Phisching
Just got a phishing email that claimed
a paypal problem. The Phishers duplicated Paypals lingo and look very closely.
They also tried to leverage on our tendency to scan pages rather than to
read them. The URL is mostly identical to Paypal's. The only difference
is a dash instead of a dot and slash. They just made the processing part
of paypal (behind the .com ) part of their domain. To masquerade that they
encoded it:
h t t p : / / www.paypal-com-cgi-bin-xxx-pp7848%34%31%2E%63%6F%6D
(not the real one to protect innocent people).
Which translates to:
h t t p : / / www.paypal-com-cgi-bin-xxx-pp784841.com
The mail was routed:
"from sebsoksa.com.previewmysite.com
(localhost [127.0.0.1]) by web5.megawebservers.com (8.12.10/8.12.9) with
ESMTP id j835Fiu3017824 for <stephan@wissel.net>; Sat, 3 Sep 2005
01:15:50 -0400"
which is fake of course (at least the
from part).
What is very confusing: The IP address
of the webserver is 65.54.132.254 running on IIS6 in Redmond!!! See
for yourself! Somehow the
managed to highjack the server for a reroute!
The true form that pops up is running
on a 1 & 1 registered server by Mr. Solis:
Domain ID:D10723261-LRMS
Domain Name:ID-PP75216122155155554454.INFO
Created On:18-Aug-2005 17:35:47 UTC
Expiration Date:18-Aug-2006 17:35:47
UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R113-LRMS
Status:ACTIVE
Status:OK
Registrant ID:C11011092-LRMS
Registrant Name:Felipe Solis
Registrant Street1:415 N. Paseo Flamenco
Apt
Registrant City:Rio Rico
Registrant State/Province:AZ
Registrant Postal Code:85648
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.5205484584
Registrant Email:etareke at hotmail.com
Admin ID:C11011092-LRMS
Admin Name:Felipe Solis
Admin Street1:415 N. Paseo Flamenco
Apt
Admin City:Rio Rico
Admin State/Province:AZ
Admin Postal Code:85648
Admin Country:US
Admin Phone:+1.5205484584
Admin Email:etareke at hotmail.com
Nice try Mr. Solis!
Update: Hotmail doesn't care,
that their servers are used in a scam. I duly forwarded the message to
abuse@hotmail.com, explaining the problem. First I got a promising (auto)
reply: "This is an auto-generated response designed to let you
know that our system received your support inquiry and a Support Representative
will review your question and respond to you soon." About a second
later (what a joke, that a support representative would have looked into
it) Hotmail told me, that since it is not a hotmail email (rather than
their server), they won't look into it: "Unfortunately, we cannot
take action on the mail you sent us because it does not reference a Hotmail
account. Please send us another message that contains the full Hotmail
e-mail address and the full e-mail message to:
abuse@hotmail.com".
Update 2: I just got an email from 1
& 1 who hosted the destination phishing site: "Dear Sir or
Madam, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. The account
in question has been suspended."
Seems some ISP do care! Well
done 1&1.
Disclaimer
This site is in no way affiliated, endorsed, sanctioned, supported, nor enlightened by Lotus Software nor IBM Corporation. I may be an employee, but the opinions, theories, facts, etc. presented here are my own and are in now way given in any official capacity. In short, these are my words and this is my site, not IBM's - and don't even begin to think otherwise. (Disclaimer shamelessly plugged from Rocky Oliver)
© 2003 - 2013 Stephan H. Wissel - some rights reserved as listed here:

Unless otherwise labeled by its originating author, the content found on this site is made available under the terms of an Attribution/NonCommercial/ShareAlike Creative Commons License, with the exception that no rights are granted -- since they are not mine to grant -- in any logo, graphic design, trademarks or trade names of any type. Code samples and code downloads on this site are, unless otherwise labeled, made available under an Apache 2.0 license. Other license models are available on written request and written confirmation.