Phishing gets more sophisticated
h t t p : / / www.paypal-com-cgi-bin-xxx-pp7848%34%31%2E%63%6F%6D (not the real one to protect innocent people).
Which translates to:
h t t p : / / www.paypal-com-cgi-bin-xxx-pp784841.com
The mail was routed:
"from sebsoksa.com.previewmysite.com (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by web5.megawebservers.com (8.12.10/8.12.9) with ESMTP id j835Fiu3017824 for <stephan@wissel.net>; Sat, 3 Sep 2005 01:15:50 -0400"
which is fake of course (at least the from part).
What is very confusing: The IP address of the webserver is 65.54.132.254 running on IIS6 in Redmond!!! See for yourself! Somehow the managed to highjack the server for a reroute!
The true form that pops up is running on a 1 & 1 registered server by Mr. Solis:
Domain ID:D10723261-LRMS
Domain Name:ID-PP75216122155155554454.INFO
Created On:18-Aug-2005 17:35:47 UTC
Expiration Date:18-Aug-2006 17:35:47 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R113-LRMS
Status:ACTIVE
Status:OK
Registrant ID:C11011092-LRMS
Registrant Name:Felipe Solis
Registrant Street1:415 N. Paseo Flamenco Apt
Registrant City:Rio Rico
Registrant State/Province:AZ
Registrant Postal Code:85648
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.5205484584
Registrant Email:etareke at hotmail.com
Admin ID:C11011092-LRMS
Admin Name:Felipe Solis
Admin Street1:415 N. Paseo Flamenco Apt
Admin City:Rio Rico
Admin State/Province:AZ
Admin Postal Code:85648
Admin Country:US
Admin Phone:+1.5205484584
Admin Email:etareke at hotmail.com
Nice try Mr. Solis!
Update: Hotmail doesn't care, that their servers are used in a scam. I duly forwarded the message to abuse@hotmail.com, explaining the problem. First I got a promising (auto) reply: "This is an auto-generated response designed to let you know that our system received your support inquiry and a Support Representative will review your question and respond to you soon." About a second later (what a joke, that a support representative would have looked into it) Hotmail told me, that since it is not a hotmail email (rather than their server), they won't look into it: "Unfortunately, we cannot take action on the mail you sent us because it does not reference a Hotmail account. Please send us another message that contains the full Hotmail e-mail address and the full e-mail message to:
abuse@hotmail.com".
Update 2: I just got an email from 1 & 1 who hosted the destination phishing site: "Dear Sir or Madam, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. The account in question has been suspended."
Seems some ISP do care! Well done 1&1.



